M/C and Judges for the IMS2017 Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition

Ryan Ozawa (@hawaii) is the Master of Ceremonies for the IMS2017 3MT® Competition. He has been focused on building connections and communities through technology since the days before the web. He is the Communications Director of Hawai'i Information Service. Ryan also co-hosts "Bytemarks Café" on Hawai'i Public Radio and the "Geek Beat" on Hawai'i News Now with Burt Lum.

We are further delighted to introduce our panel of five judges:


Myhraliza Aala is a higher education administrator by trade.  Her work is grounded in leadership development and intercultural communication.  She currently serves as the STEM Marketing Public Affairs Officer for the College of Engineering at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa and has been in this position since April 2011.


Cheryl Ernst is a public information officer with the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa’s College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources and supports graduate students in STEM disciplines as a board member of ARCS Foundation, Inc.

Jay Fidell, an attorney by career, has an abiding interest in tech. He founded ThinkTech Hawai‘i in 2000 and now spends most of his time running its video operations. He is an ardent advocate for tech, energy, economic diversification and global awareness in Hawai'i.


Amy Hubbard is a Professor and Chair in the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa’s Department of Communicology. She teaches and researches human communication processes in interpersonal to public speaking situations.


Burt Lum is Executive Director of Hawai‘i Open Data, a non-profit dedicated to advancing the principles of open data/knowledge in Hawai‘i, including policy work and community collaborations.